BooksDirect
Australian Curriculum Books

The Second Sister

Buy The Second Sister from BooksDirect
Paperback
Published: February 2017
For Ages:
Retail Price: $14.99
$11.99
YOU Save: $3.00  (20.0%)
Temporarily out of stock Temporarily out of stock

Quantity:
Category: /
BIC Subject: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
 
Published: 15-Feb-2017
Format: Paperback, 352 pages, 0x0mm
ISBN: 9781496709974
Stock Code: 6709974
Product Description
 
Years of long workdays and little sleep as a political campaigner are about to pay off now that Lucy Toomey's boss is entering the White House. But when her estranged older sister, Alice, unexpectedly dies, Lucy is drawn back to Nilson's Bay, her small, close-knit Wisconsin hometown. An accident in her teens left Alice mentally impaired, and she was content to stay in Nilson's Bay. Lucy, meanwhile, got out and never looked back. But now, to meet the terms of Alice's eccentric will, Lucy has taken up temporary residence in her sister's cottage-and begins to see the town, and Alice's life, anew. Alice's diverse group of friends appears to have little in common besides an interest in quilting. Yet deep affection for Alice united them and soon Lucy, too, is brought into the fold as they share problems and stories. And as she finds warmth and support in this new circle, Lucy begins to understand this will be her sister's enduring gift-a chance to move beyond her difficult past, and find what she has long been missinga oBeautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.o --USAToday.com oFans of Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will enjoy this warm, witty novel of rediscovery and personal growth.o --BooklistYears of long workdays and little sleep as a political campaigner are about to pay off now that Lucy Toomey's boss is entering the White House. But when her estranged older sister, Alice, unexpectedly dies, Lucy is drawn back to Nilson's Bay, her small, close-knit Wisconsin hometown. An accident in her teens left Alice mentally impaired, and she was content to stay in Nilson's Bay. Lucy, meanwhile, got out and never looked back. But now, to meet the terms of Alice's eccentric will, Lucy has taken up temporary residence in her sister's cottage-and begins to see the town, and Alice's life, anew. Alice's diverse group of friends appears to have little in common besides an interest in quilting. Yet deep affection for Alice united them and soon Lucy, too, is brought into the fold as they share problems and stories. And as she finds warmth and support in this new circle, Lucy begins to understand this will be her sister's enduring gift-a chance to move beyond her difficult past, and find what she has long been missinga oBeautiful, thought-provoking, tragic and redeeming, The Second Sister is a feel-good goldmine.o --USAToday.com oFans of Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will enjoy this warm, witty novel of rediscovery and personal growth.o --Booklist
Marie Bostwick was born and raised in the northwest. In the three decades since her marriage, Marie and her family have moved frequently, living in eight different states at eighteen different addresses. These experiences have givenaMarie a unique perspective that enablesaher to write about people from all walks of life and corners of the country with insight and authenticity.aMarie currently resides in Connecticut, where she enjoys writing, spending time with family, gardening, collecting fabric, and stitching quilts. Visit her at www.mariebostwick.com.
 
Other Items That May Interest You...