BooksDirect
Standing Orders

Mirage

Buy Mirage from BooksDirect
Paperback
Published: May 2020
For Ages:
Retail Price: $17.99
$14.39
YOU Save: $3.60  (20.0%)
Temporarily out of stock Available to Order: 7 to 10 business days depending on publishers availability

Quantity:
Author: Somaiya Daud
Category: /
BIC Subject: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)
Published By: Hachette Australia
 
Published: 12-May-2020
Format: Paperback, 320 pages,
ISBN: 9781473651746
Stock Code: 3651746
Product Description
 
A stunning and lushly imagined young adult debut about a girl who is kidnapped and forced to become A stunning and lushly imagined young adult debut about a girl who is kidnapped and forced to become the body double for the princess of a ruthless empire. Perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES and CINDER.A stunning and lushly imagined young adult debut about a girl who is kidnapped and forced to become A stunning and lushly imagined young adult debut about a girl who is kidnapped and forced to become the body double for the princess of a ruthless empire. Perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES and CINDER.
The crown of Dihya had been stripped from me, my face changed, my body broken.

But I was not a slave and I was not a spare.

I was my mother's daughter, and I would survive and endure. I would find my way back home.

****************

The instant Sunday Times bestseller!

'Prepare yourself for a story that's enriching, thrilling, and captivating' - BuzzFeed

'Somaiya Daud is a rare talent. A smart, romantic, exciting debut.' - Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DIVERGENT

'By turns thrilling and ruminative, sexy and heartbreaking' - Sabaa Tahir, author of an EMBER IN THE ASHES

****************

In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. She dreams of what life was like before the occupation and receiving a sign that one day, she, too, will have adventures, and travel beyond her isolated moon.

But when adventure comes for Amani, it is not what she expects. She is kidnapped by the government and taken in secret to the royal palace. There, she discovers that she is nearly identical to the cruel half-Vathek Princess Maram. The princess is so hated by her conquered people that she requires a body double to appear in public, ready to die in her place.

As Amani is forced into her new role, she can't help but enjoy the palace's beauty - and her time with the princess' fiance, Idris. But the glitter of the royal court belies a world of violence and fear, and she soon realises that one wrong move could lead to her death...
 
Other Items That May Interest You...