BooksDirect
Cheap Library Books Sale

The Last Migration

Buy The Last Migration from BooksDirect
Paperback
Published: October 2020
For Ages: Secondary
Retail Price: $32.99
$26.39
YOU Save: $6.60  (20.0%)
Temporarily out of stock Available to Order: 7 to 10 business days depending on publishers availability

Quantity:
 
Published: 07-Oct-2020
Format: Paperback, 272 pages, 233x155mm
ISBN: 9781760893316
Stock Code: 0893316
Product Description
 
'An extraordinary novel... as beautiful and as wrenching as anything I've ever read.' Emily St John Mandel 'This novel is enchanting, but not in some safe, fairytale sense. Charlotte McConaghy has harnessed the rough magic that sears our souls. I recommend The Last Migration with my whole heart.' Geraldine Brooks For readers of Station Eleven and Everything I Never Told You, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds - and her own final chance for redemption. A dark past. An impossible journey. The will to survive. How far you would you go for love? Franny Stone is determined to go to the end of the earth, following the last of the Arctic terns on what may be their final migration to Antarctica. As animal populations plummet and commercial fishing faces prohibition, Franny talks her way onto one of the few remaining boats heading south. But as she and the eccentric crew travel further from shore and safety, the dark secrets of Franny's life begin to unspool. A daughter's yearning search for her mother. An impulsive, passionate marriage. A shocking crime. Haunted by love and violence, Franny must confront what she is really running towards - and from. The Last Migration is a wild, gripping and deeply moving novel from a brilliant young writer. From the west coast of Ireland to Australia and remote Greenland, through crashing Atlantic swells to the bottom of the world, this is an ode to the wild places and creatures now threatened, and an epic story of the possibility of hope against all odds. 'Transporting' (New York Times) 'Hopeful' (Washington Post) 'Powerful' (Los Angeles Times) 'Thrilling' (TIME) 'Tantalizingly beautiful' (Elle) 'Suspenseful' (Vogue) 'Aching and poignant' (Guardian)
 
Other Items That May Interest You...