BooksDirect
Cheap Library Books Sale

Loved and Wanted

Buy Loved and Wanted from BooksDirect
Hardback
Published: December 2020
For Ages:
Retail Price: $39.99
$31.99
YOU Save: $8.00  (20.0%)
Temporarily out of stock Available to Order: 7 to 10 business days depending on publishers availability

Quantity:
Category: /
BIC Subject: Autobiography: general
Published By: Bonnier
 
Published: 01-Dec-2020
Format: Hardback, 272 pages, 135x216mm
ISBN: 9781786580542
Stock Code: 6580542
Product Description
 
A harrowing account of one woman's reckoning with life, death and choice. For readers of Educated, Hillbilly Elegy and Three Women.A harrowing account of one woman's reckoning with life, death and choice. For readers of Educated, Hillbilly Elegy and Three Women.
'Haunting, wild, and quiet at once. A shimmering look at motherhood, in all gothic pain and glory. I could not stop reading' - Lisa Taddeo, bestselling author of Three Women

A harrowing account of one woman's reckoning with life, death and choice in Trump's America. For readers of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy.

In 2017 Christa Parravani had recently moved her family from California to West Virginia and was surviving on a teacher's salary and raising two young children with her husband, screenwriter Anthony Swofford.

Another pregnancy, a year after giving birth to her second child, came as a shock. Christa had a history of ectopic pregnancies, and worried that she wouldn't be able to find adequate medical care. She immediately requested a termination, but her doctor refused to help. The only doctor who would perform an abortion made it clear that this would be illicit, not condoned by her colleagues or their community.

Christa Parravani has crafted, through her own harrowing experiences with healthcare in contemporary America, a brilliant and moving exploration of the choices women have.
 
Other Items That May Interest You...