BooksDirect

Description - Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Inspired by the worst disaster in maritime history, Ruta Sepetys, award-winning author of Between Shades of Gray, brilliantly tells a shocking, illuminating and ultimately life-affirming story from World War II.

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.
This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

Buy Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought
Clap When You Land
Paperback , May '20
20% OFF!
RRP: $19.99 $15.99
You Will Be Mine
Paperback , Feb '18
20% OFF!
RRP: $18.99 $15.19
Kaguya-sama: Love Is War, Vol. 4
Paperback , Sep '18
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
My Hero Academia, Vol. 25
Paperback , Oct '20
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
My Hero Academia, Vol. 26
Paperback , Feb '21
RRP: $14.99 $13.49
The Grace Year
Paperback , Sep '20
RRP: $23.66 $21.29
My Hero Academia, Vol. 27
Paperback , Jun '21
RRP: $21.68 $19.51
Huntress
Paperback , May '11
RRP: $21.99 $19.79
Braced
Paperback , Jul '18
RRP: $17.34 $15.61
Salt to the Sea
Hardback , Aug '17
RRP: $49.48 $44.53
The Fountains of Silence
Paperback , Oct '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $24.99 $19.99
Between Shades Of Gray
Paperback , Jun '11
RRP: $21.03 $18.93
Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel
Paperback , Oct '21
RRP: $16.99 $15.29