BooksDirect

Description - The Book of Lost Names: The novel Heather Morris calls 'a truly beautiful story' by Kristin Harmel

Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France. In this instant New York Times bestseller, Kristin Harmel reimagines their story...

Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.

In 1942, Eva is forced to flee Paris after the arrest of her father, a Polish Jew. Finding refuge in a small mountain town, she begins forging identity documents for Jewish children escaping to neutral Switzerland. But erasing people comes with a price, and along with a mysterious, handsome forger named Remy, Eva realises she must find a way to preserve the real names of the children who are too young to remember their own identities.

When Remy disappears and the resistance cell they work for is betrayed, the records they keep in The Book of Lost Names become even more crucial to remembering the truth...

A present day discovery of the book leaves researchers fascinated by its origins and desperate to decipher its codes. Only Eva holds the answer but will she have the strength to face old memories and help reunite those lost during the war?

If you loved The Book of Lost Names, don't miss Kristin Harmel's The Winemaker's Wife, available now.

___________

What readers are saying about The Book of Lost Names:

'A heart-stopping tale of survival and heroism centered on a female forger who risks everything to help Jewish children escape Nazi-occupied France' People Magazine, '20 Best Books to Read this Summer'

'Brilliantly imagined ... This thoughtful work will touch readers with its testament to the endurance of hope' Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

'Harmel illuminates heartbreakingly real but forgotten stories from WW2, blended with a dash of suspense and romance' Booklist

'A fascinating, heartrending page-turner' Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author

'This moving novel will resonate with readers who love World War II stories about courage, survival and resilience' Bookbub

'Smart, evocative and utterly engrossing' getliterary.com

'An engaging and evocative novel ... A testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of bravery and love in the face of evil' Goodreads

'One of my favourite July 2020 book releases ... The discussion of identity with themes of religion, family, selflessness, and nationhood will sit with you long after closing the last chapter' theuncorkedlibrarian.com

'It's a fabulous read that you will fly through, but not with

Buy The Book of Lost Names: The novel Heather Morris calls 'a truly beautiful story' by Kristin Harmel from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

Other Editions - The Book of Lost Names: The novel Heather Morris calls 'a truly beautiful story' by Kristin Harmel

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought
Boy Swallows Universe
Paperback , Mar '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $22.99 $18.39
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Paperback , May '12
20% OFF!
RRP: $26.99 $21.59
Pretty Girls
Paperback , Jul '20
RRP: $0.00 $0.00
Spring Clean for the Peach Queen
Paperback , Mar '21
RRP: $29.99 $26.99
The Four Winds
Paperback , Feb '21
RRP: $19.99 $17.99
The Forest of Vanishing Stars
Paperback , Aug '22
20% OFF!
RRP: $24.99 $19.99
When We Meet Again
Paperback , Jun '16
RRP: $45.10 $40.59
Life Intended
Paperback , Mar '15
RRP: $26.70 $24.03
Sweetness of Forgetting
Paperback , Mar '13
RRP: $26.70 $24.03