BooksDirect

Description - The Radio Hour: the charming and funny new novel of 2024 from bestselling author of The Nurses War, for readers of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY and HIDDEN FIGURES by Victoria Purman

From the bestselling author of The Nurses' War comes this charming, funny, pointed look at the golden years of radio broadcasting in post-war Australia, celebrating the extraordinary unseen women who wrote the radio plays that held a nation captive. For readers of Lessons in Chemistry.


Martha Berry is fifty years old, a spinster, and one of an army of polite and invisible women in 1956 Sydney who go to work each day and get things done without fuss, fanfare or reward.

Working at the country's national broadcaster, she's seen highly praised talent come and go over the years but when she is sent to work as a secretary on a brand-new radio serial, created to follow in the footsteps of Australia's longest running show, Blue Hills, she finds herself at the mercy of an egotistical and erratic young producer without a clue, a conservative broadcaster frightened by the word 'pregnant' and a motley cast of actors with ideas of their own about their roles in the show.

When Martha is forced to step in to rescue the serial from impending cancellation, she ends up secretly ghost-writing scripts for As The Sun Sets, creating mayhem with management, and coming up with storylines that resonate with the serial's growing and loyal audience of women listeners.

But she can't keep her secret forever and when she's threatened with exposure, Martha has to decide if she wants to remain in the shadows, or to finally step into the spotlight.

Buy The Radio Hour: the charming and funny new novel of 2024 from bestselling author of The Nurses War, for readers of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY and HIDDEN FIGURES by Victoria Purman from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

Other Editions - The Radio Hour: the charming and funny new novel of 2024 from bestselling author of The Nurses War, for readers of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY and HIDDEN FIGURES by Victoria Purman

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought
Growing Up Disabled in Australia
Paperback , Feb '21
20% OFF!
RRP: $32.99 $26.39
Growing Up Indian in Australia
, Jul '24
20% OFF!
RRP: $32.99 $26.39
The Family Law
, Nov '23
20% OFF!
RRP: $29.99 $23.99
Call The Midwife
Paperback , Jan '12
20% OFF!
RRP: $22.99 $18.39
Dying Every Day
Paperback , Dec '14
RRP: $40.07 $36.06
Kisses from Katie
Paperback , Jan '13
RRP: $26.70 $24.03
The Nurses' War
Paperback , Mar '22
20% OFF!
RRP: $32.99 $26.39
The Land Girls
Paperback , Feb '20
20% OFF!
RRP: $16.99 $13.59
The Women's Pages
Paperback , Jun '21
20% OFF!
RRP: $22.99 $18.39
The Three Miss Allens
Paperback , Apr '21
20% OFF!
RRP: $22.99 $18.39
The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls
Paperback , Feb '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $19.99 $15.99
SOMEONE LIKE YOU
Paperback , Jan '14
20% OFF!
RRP: $29.99 $23.99
A Woman's Work
Paperback , Apr '23
20% OFF!
RRP: $32.99 $26.39