BooksDirect

Description - The Secret Book Of Flora Lea: A captivating and heartbreaking new novel about loss and love from an unforgettable bestselling author for fans of Kate Morton and Belinda Alexandra by Patti Callahan Henry

Can a fairytale solve the mystery of her lost sister?

'A magical read! Combining a WWII narrative, a book of fairytales and a swinging Sixties storyline is an absolute masterstroke and Patti Callahan Henry weaves all her threads expertly together. Sit back and lose yourself in his truly atmospheric tale.' Natasha Lester, international bestselling author of The Three Lives of Alix St Pierre


1939: Fourteen-year-old Hazel and five-year-old Flora are evacuated from London to a rural village to escape the horrors of the Second World War. Living with the Aberdeen family in a charming stone cottage, Hazel distracts her young sister with a fairy tale about a magical land, a secret place they can escape to that is all their own: Whisperwood.

But the unthinkable happens when Flora vanishes near the banks of the River Thames. Shattered, Hazel blames herself for her sister's disappearance, carrying the guilt into adulthood.

Twenty years later, Hazel is back in London, ready to move on from her job at a cosy rare-book shop for a career at Sotheby's. With a cherished boyfriend and an upcoming Paris getaway, Hazel's future seems set. But her tidy life is turned upside down when she unwraps a package containing a picture book called Whisperwood and the River of Stars. Hazel never told a soul about the storybook world she created just for Flora. Could this book hold the secrets to Flora's disappearance? Could it be a sign that her beloved sister is still alive after all these years? Or is something sinister at play?

For fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah, this is a captivating, poignant celebration of sisterhood and the magic of storytelling.

'A beautiful blend of love and mystery, The Secret Book of Flora Lea is captivating from the first page. Intriguing, atmospheric, rich in detail, it will break your heart and warm it at the same time. Definitely a book for booklovers; you'll want to race through the pages but linger over the beautiful descriptions and superbly rendered characters. I loved it.' Belinda Alexandra, author of The French Agent

'A delicious mystery, woven with sparkling prose and wit' Josephine Moon, author of The Jam Queens

'A heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate' Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author

'Two sisters, dual time periods, a magical secret place, an abiding mystery -- The Secret Book of Flora Lea is an enchanting story of survival against all odds. Transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric.' Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

Buy The Secret Book Of Flora Lea: A captivating and heartbreaking new novel about loss and love from an unforgettable bestselling author for fans of Kate Morton and Belinda Alexandra by Patti Callahan Henry from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
The Perfect Love Song
Hardback , Nov '19
RRP: $45.10 $40.59
The Favorite Daughter
Paperback , Jun '19
RRP: $40.11 $36.09
Losing the Moon
Paperback , May '04
RRP: $55.16 $49.64
When Light Breaks
Paperback , May '06
RRP: $55.16 $49.64
Bookshop At Water's End
Paperback , Jul '17
RRP: $45.13 $40.61
Idea of Love
Paperback , Jun '16
RRP: $47.61 $42.84
Driftwood Summer
Paperback , Jun '09
RRP: $40.11 $36.09
Stories We Tell
Paperback , May '15
RRP: $47.61 $42.84