BooksDirect

Description - Nancy Wake Biography Revised Edition by Peter FitzSimons

The gripping true story of the woman who became the Gestapo's most wanted spy


In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo's most wanted person.

As a naive, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence in a Viennese street. From that moment, she declared that she would do everything in her power to rid Europe of the Nazis. What began as a courier job here and there became a highly successful escape network for Allied soldiers, perfectly camouflaged by Nancy's high-society life in Marseille.

Her network was soon so successful - and so notorious - that she was forced to flee France to escape the Gestapo, who had dubbed her "the white mouse" for her knack of slipping through its traps. But Nancy was a passionate enemy of the Nazis and refused to stay away. Supplying weapons and training members of a powerful underground fighting force, organising Allied parachute drops, cycling four hundred kilometres across a mountain range to find a new transmitting radio - nothing seemed too difficult in her fight against the Nazis. Peter FitzSimons reveals Nancy Wake's compelling story, a tale of an ordinary woman doing extraordinary things.

For fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Name: Lise comes the true story behind the historical fiction novels Code Name Helene and Liberation.

Buy Nancy Wake Biography Revised Edition by Peter FitzSimons from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, BooksDirect.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.
Customers Also Bought
The Lost Girls: #2 Off The Map
Paperback , Sep '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $16.99 $13.59
Definitely Do Not Open This Book
Hardback , Sep '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $19.99 $15.99
Do Not Open Learn Times Tables
Paperback , Mar '18
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
Do Not Learn to Tell the Time Write & Wipe Book
Spiral bound , Sep '18
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
Do Not Open Learn Writing and Spelling
Paperback , Mar '18
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
Hey Grandude!
Hardback , Sep '19
20% OFF!
RRP: $24.99 $19.99
Boy with Two Lives
Paperback , Nov '15
RRP: $0.00 $0.00
Do Not Open This Journal
Hardback , Oct '17
RRP: $14.99 $13.49
Seriously, Do Not Open This Book
Paperback , Sep '18
RRP: $14.99 $13.49
Kokoda
Paperback , Oct '16
20% OFF!
RRP: $14.99 $11.99
Breaker Morant
Hardback , Oct '20
20% OFF!
RRP: $49.99 $39.99
Ned Kelly
Paperback , Dec '15
20% OFF!
RRP: $24.99 $19.99
Victory at Villers-Bretonneux
Hardback , Nov '16
20% OFF!
RRP: $49.99 $39.99
Burke and Wills
Hardback , Oct '17
20% OFF!
RRP: $49.99 $39.99
Gallipoli
Hardback , Nov '14
20% OFF!
RRP: $49.99 $39.99